La Liga Match Preview: Espanyol vs Real Madrid 0

real madrid vs espanyol

Español V Real Madrid : All You Need To Know About This La Liga Clash

Real Madrid head to RCDE Stadium on Tuesday hoping to stretch their winning streak to six games in a row.

Real Madrid, fresh from a 4-0 victory at home against Alavés, look to capitalize on their recent run of form which saw them remain unbeaten in the last seven games, scoring 30 goals in the process.
The hosts, Espanyol, sit 15th in the league table. Quique Sanchez Flores’ men have drawn their last four matches in a row and are winless since January 8.

Date: 27 February (28 February, IST)
Time: 14:00 (ET), 19:00 (GMT), 20:00 (CET), 00:30 (IST)
Venue: RCDE Stadium, Barcelona
TV channel: Sky Sports Mix, beIN Sports, Sony Ten 2
Live Stream: Sony Liv, fuboTV, Sky Sports

Team News:

Espanyol: Yhe Catalan side has no new injury or suspension concerns ahead of the game. Javi López and Jairo Morillas are back in training after illness and muscle injury respectively, are expected to feature against The Whites. Despite being dropped down to the bottom six, Espanyol have beaten Barcelona and Atlético since December and narrowly missed out on a second triumph over Barcelona. “We would like to be higher, with more points.”, Gerard Moreno said. “Things aren’t going great but I have total faith in the team and that we can turn things around.”

Real Madrid: Real Madrid could welcome Marco Asensio back, after the 22-year-old was left out of the squad in the weekend clash against Alavés. Sergio Ramos, who watched the game from the stands, returns from suspension. Luka Modrić, Toni Kroos, and Marcelo are not available due to injuries. Zinedine Zidane’s side are keen to keep the pressure up inspite of being well adrift of the league leaders Barcelona. “We don’t look at the table. Espanyol have shown very good things against the best teams this season.”, Zidane said. “We know who we’re up against and we’ll have to have a great game to win again. We want to continue the good run we’re on. Every match starts from zero and we want to have another good game at a difficult ground.”

Recent Form (all competitions):

Espanyol: L D D D D
Real Madrid: W W W W W

Last meeting: Real Madrid 2-0 Espanyol (2nd October 2017)

Writer’s Opinion:

Real Madrid are on a nice run of form. But the absence of Kroos and Modrić can affect the performance of the Los Blancos, who have conceded goals in the first half against Levante, PSG, Real Betis, and Leganes in the last few games. However, it is expected of the Los Blancos to have a fruitful evening and register their sixth win in a trot.