Virat Kohli To Receive Polly Umrigar Award For Best International Cricketer 0


The Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed that Indian Cricket Team Captain Virat Kohli will be honoured with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for the best international cricketer for the season 2016-17 and 2017-18 at the BCCI awards Naman which will be held in Bengaluru on June 12, 2018.

Virat Kohli had a terrific carrer in these two seasons with bat. In the season 2016-17 Kohli scored 1332 runs in 13 Tests at an average of 84.22 and 1516 runs in 27 ODIs. In the season 2017-18 Kohli scored 896 test runs in 6 matches at an average of 89.6 while he averages 75.50 in ODIs played during this period

Now Virat Kohli became the first Indian Cricketer to get this award for the fourth time in his career.

List of players getting this award –

  1. 2006-07 – Sachin Tendulkar
  2. 2007-08 – Virender Sehwag
  3. 2008-09 – Gautam Gambhir
  4. 2009-10 – Sachin Tendulkar
  5. 2010-11 – Rahul Dravid
  6. 2011-12 – Virat Kohli
  7. 2012-13 – Ravinchandran Ashwin
  8. 2013-14 – Bhunvneshwar Kumar
  9. 2014-15 – Virat Kohli
  10. 2015-16 – Virat Kohli
  11. 2016-17 & 2017-18 – Virat Kohli

Apart from this, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana are also set to receive this award for the session 2016-17 and 2017-18 respectively.

On the occasion, Mr. Vinod Rai, Chairman, CoA, said, “I congratulate all the winners of the BCCI Annual Awards. The last two years have been fabulous for Indian Cricket with both the men and women’s teams doing very well. We are proud of their achievements and this is our small way of acknowledging their on-field efforts.”

BCCI Acting President, Mr. CK Khanna said, “The BCCI Annual Awards is an occasion where former greats of the game, the present generation and the stars of tomorrow come under one roof. For BCCI, it is an opportunity to show its gratitude towards cricketers who enrich this game with their skills and hard work.”

The BCCI also raised prize money for nine categories of winners (from a total of 18) by Rs. 1 lakh, with the previous being INR 50,000.