Mohammedan Sporting Club Confident Ahead Of Lash Against ATK Reserves 0

IMG 20190112 WA0004 - Mohammedan Sporting Club Confident Ahead Of Lash Against ATK Reserves

Mohammedan Sporting’s 2nd division I-League kicks off on Saturday, 12th January against ATK Reserves. The Kolkata major’s technical director Raghu Nandi when asked about his views about the club ahead of the league, exclaimed “Mohammedan has been playing in the country’s 2nd division for 4 years now and being a club from the Kolkata Majors, it’s a shame for us to not being able to qualify for the top division.”

Ghanaian forward Philip Adjah will be the only foreigner for the Black Panthers in their first match, but his brother Moses Zutah will be available from the second match. Adjah has scored 22 goals in 24 matches for Mohammedan and will look forward to ever better his tally.

IMG 20190112 WA0005 680x453 - Mohammedan Sporting Club Confident Ahead Of Lash Against ATK Reserves

Although playing against a reserves team, Mr. Nandi is unwilling to underestimate them. He said “We are not looking down to ATK Reserves. We have seen how East Bengal Reserves turned tough as they defeated us in the final of Darjeeling GTA Chairman’s Gold Cup.”

Mohammedan will be playing their home games in Kalyani Stadium due to the bad conditions of Mohammedan ground. General Secretary,
Mohammed Qamaruddin stated “Adjah will lead the side in 2nd division I-League too, as he did in Calcutta Football League Premier Division A, and the three other tournaments we played. We hope to qualify for top division next season under his captaincy.”
While questioned about the third foreigner, Md. Qamaruddin replied “We are not in a hurry to sign the third foreigner to satisfy the Asian quota criteria.The club has gone through lots of financial ups and downs in the recent past and it will be another one to sign a foreign player just for warming the bench, because only two foreign players can be lined up on field.” He also added “We are presenting a platform for Indian players to showcase their talent. If any of the foreigners has to sit out, we have good Indian players to fill in the gaps.”
Mohammedan has rearranged their team a bit from the CFL squad . General Secretary explains “We have sacked lazy players and the ones with performances not up to the mark. Instead we have signed some new ones whom we think will shine in the near future.”

Mohammedan has been potted alongside Mizo side Chhinga Veng FC, Manipur side TRAU FC, Jharkhand side Jamshedpur FC Reserves and Kolkata sides NBP Rainbow AC and ATK Reserves. Considering the fixture they have to face two teams from highland, the club officials show no extra cautiousness for that. They exclaimed “East Bengal, Mohun Bagan and Mohammedan are clubs that can play against any side at any condition. The name of club plays a big role on and off the pitch. Moreover at the end of the day it is the team work that pays off, not the climate.”

Coach Suman Ghoshal and TD Raghu Nandi have been preparing the team throughout the pre-season and they feel they are well prepared. Mr. Nandi exclaimed “Some new players have been brought in for the league. It would have been better if I got them a bit earlier; then I could have delivered better results.”
“ATK Reserves thumped George Telegraph 5-0 in Sikkim Gold Cup, and the side plays good short touches. But we are well prepared for them and confident of a win.”

All staffs and club officials are confident of winning the 2nd division I-League and qualifying for top division next season. Captain Philip Adjah stated “We will play to win and we will win.”
Now it is a matter of days to see what the future holds for Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Mohammedan Sporting Club Squad:
Laltu Mondal(1), Priyant Kumar Singh(21), Moniruzzaman Ansari(31), Sourav Chakraborty(41)
Ashim Kumar Dey(4), Moses Zutah(5)[Ghana], Kamran Farooque(7), Snehasish Dutta(16), Prosenjit Pal(19), Nirmal Munda(20), Ainish Zamadar(27), Balwinder Singh(28)
Joy Mrong Kharraswai(8), Saiful Rehman(9), Laltu Hembram(14), Prosenjit Chakraborty(15), Debashish Pradhan(17), Satyam Sharma(18), Pankaj Moula(23), Stephanson Pale(24), Firoj Ali(26), Amarendu Chakraborty(29)
Philip Adjah Tetteh(10)[Ghana], Mohammed Amirul(11), Sandip Bhattacharjee(13), Kushant Chauhan(25)